

MANIPUR COMMISSION FOR PROTECTION OF CHILD RIGHTS GOVERNMENT OF MANIPUR

Old High Court Complex, North A.O.C., Imphal-795001, Manipur Phone Number: 0385-2445760
Email: mcpcrmanipur@gmail.com



PRESS NOTE 17thJune, 2016

The Manipur Commission for Protection of Child Rights (MCPCR) in partnership with Manipur State Legal Services Authority(MASLSA), Manipur Alliance For Child Rights& Good Foundation organiseda "One Day District Level Awareness Program on Implementation of Protection of Children from Sexual Offences (POCSO) Act, Juvenile Justice (Care and Protection of Children) Act, Right to Education Act & Child Labour (Prohibition & Regulation) Act" at the Community Hall, Unikhong Bazaar, Patsoipt III, Opposite Patsoi PS, Imphal West District, Manipur on 16th June, 2016 as a part of the series of the 10 District Level Awareness Program (so far 6 programs have been conducted). A total number of 187 participants took part in the program. The program was chaired by Shri. S Saratkumar Sharma (Chairperson, MCPCR), Shri N. Tomba Meitei (Pradhan, Patsoi Gram Panchayat) presided the program and Shri Kheda Singh (SI, Juvenile Police Unit, I/W) was the Guest Of Honour.

Major issues discussed were trafficking of children, role of juvenile police unit and Child Welfare Committee, protection of child rights in schools, institutions/hostels and also on child labour.

The Participant includes 20 (twenty) police officials from Imphal West PS & SJPUs, Members & staff of MCPCR, CWC I/W Members, I/W DCPU Staff, ZEO staff, SMDCs, MACR, GOOD Foundation, MeiraPaibees, SHGs, Students, Local Mahila Mandal, Voluntary Organisations and Media personnel's.

Resource persons were Dr. (Shri) Ch. Narendra Singh (Lecturer, Law College), Shri M. Athoi Singh (Member, CWC I/W), Shri E. Tomba (Deputy Labour Commissioner), Shri S. Shyamcharan Singh (Member, MCPCR) and Montu Ahanthem (Member, MCPCR).

Shri Ch. Nabachandra Singh (Member, MCPCR) gave the Welcome Address, Smt. Kh. Rajlakshmi Devi (Member, MCPCR) conducted the sessions. Smt. Gabriela Golmei (Member, MCPCR) gave the Vote of thanks.

(SK Sharma)
Chairperson, MCPCR