

MANIPUR COMMISSION FOR PROTECTION OF CHILD RIGHTS GOVERNMENT OF MANIPUR Old High Court Complex, North A.O.C., Imphal-795001,Manipur Phone Number : 0385-2445760 Email : <u>mcpcrmanipur@gmail.com</u>



PRESSNOTE 8th August, 2016

The Manipur Commission for Protection of Child Rights (MCPCR), Manipur State Legal Services Authority (MASLSA) in partnership with Manipur Alliance For Child Rights (MACR) organised a "One Day District Level Awareness Program on Implementation of Protection of Children from Sexual Offences (POCSO) Act, Juvenile Justice (Care and Protection of Children) Act, Right to Education Act & Child Labour (Prohibition & Regulation) Act " at the Conference Hall of Tribal Research Institute, Chingmeirong, Manipur on 8th August, 2016 as a part of the District Level Awareness Program (so far 8 programs have been conducted). A total number of 96 participants took part in the program. The program was chaired by Shri. S Saratkumar Sharma (Chairperson, MCPCR), Shri P. Manjit Singh (Addl. SP Imphal East), Smt. A. Noutuneswari Devi (CJM – Imphal East), Smt. R.K. Memcha Devi (Member Secretary MASLSA), Shri Keisam Pradipkumar and Montu Ahanthem (Member-MCPCR).

Major issues discussed were trafficking of children, role of juvenile police unit and Child Welfare Committee, protection of child rights in schools, institutions/hostels and also on child labour.

The Participant includes police officials from Imphal East PS & SJPUs, Members & staff of MCPCR, CWC I/E Members, I/E DCPU Staff, ZEO staff, SMDCs, MACR, Voluntary Organisations and Media personnel's.

Resource persons were Shri Sapam Dilipkumar Singh (Lecturer, Law College), Shri Seram Neken Singh (Member, CWC Imphal East), Shri Chongtham Nabachandra Singh (Member MCPCR), Smt. Noutuneshwari Devi (CJM- Imphal East), Shri S. Saratkumar Sharma (Chairperson, MCPCR) and Shri Keisam Pradipkumar (Member MCPCR).

Shri Montu Ahanthem (Member, MCPCR) gave the Welcome Address and Shri Sanoujam Shyamcharan Singh (Member, MCPCR) gave the Vote of thanks in the function.

(SK Sharma) Chairperson, MCPCR