

## MANIPUR COMMISSION FOR PROTECTION OF CHILD RIGHTS GOVERNMENT OF MANIPUR

Old High Court Complex, North A.O.C. Imphal-795001, Manipur Phone Number: 0385-2445760

Email: <u>mcpcrmanipur@gmail.com</u>



## PRESS NOTE 8<sup>th</sup> July, 2016

The National Commission for Protection of Child Rights (NCPCR), Manipur Commission for Protection of Child Rights (MCPCR) in partnership with Manipur State Legal Services Authority (MASLSA), organised a "One Day District Level Awareness Program on Implementation of Protection of Children from Sexual Offences (POCSO) Act, Juvenile Justice (Care and Protection of Children) Act, Right to Education Act & Child Labour (Prohibition & Regulation)Act" at District Training Hall, DC Campus, Churachandpur District, Manipur on 8<sup>th</sup> July, 2016 as part of the series of 9 District Level Awareness Program (so far 7 programs have been conducted). A total number of 90 (Ninety) participants took part in the program.

The Presidium Members of the program were Shri. S Saratkumar Sharma (Chairperson, MCPCR), Smt. Kim Shoute (District & Sessions Judge, Churachandpur District) and Shri. Mangkhogin Haokip, IPS (SP, Churachandpur District).

The Chairperson, MCPCR in his keynote address explain on the different role of stakeholders viz., Judiciary, DM, Police, ICPS staff, Medical professionals and Civil societies to work cohesively for effective implementation of Children laws and Child protection protocols. Other major issues discussed were challenges in tackling trafficking of children from Manipur State to other parts of India and outside, discussion on draft Human Trafficking Bill, 2016, role of juvenile police unit and Child Welfare Committee.

The Participant includes 24 (twenty four) police officials from Churachandpur District PS, CWC Churachandpur, Churachandpur DCPU, Doctors, teachers, Children Home Staff, Village Chairmen, GOOD Foundation, Voluntary Organisations and Media personnel's.

Resource persons were Shri. Bobby Singh (Consultant, MCPCR), Shri. K Pradipkumar (Member, MCPCR), Shri. S Shyamcharan Singh (Member, MCPCR), Smt. Binobala Nongmeikapam {Member Secretary, MCPCR & Deputy Director (WP), Social Welfare}, Km. Rajlakshmi Devi (Member, MCPCR) and Addl. SP Churachandpur District.

Smt. Kh. Rajlakshmi Devi (Member, MCPCR) gave the Welcome Address, Smt. Gabriel Golmei (Member, MCPCR) conducted the sessions and gave Vote of thanks.

(SK Sharma)
Chairperson, MCPCR

Copy to:		
	1.	The Editor,